What I primarily shoot with. The Three Kings.

Processed with VSCO with acg presetFujifilm X-Pro1

This would be my digital workhorse. She handles all of the digital work I do since she is my only digital camera other than my iPhone. Originally I had a Canon 5D Mark III, I felt that that camera was a bit overkill for the type of work I did so I sold it and downsized to this thing. I saved a lot of money doing that too… but spent it on wheels for my car (see previous post). A great little camera with some excellent capabilities. And honestly, I feel like I could essentially create the same photographs no matter what kind of camera I own.

Processed with VSCO with acg presetHasselblad 500C/M

This is my only medium format camera. I bought this one after borrowing one from the Art School I went to, I immediately fell in love with the platform and knew I had to have one for myself. It’s a super fun camera despite it being a bit cumbersome and inconvenient but she produces some truly fantastic images. She also attracts of lot of attention, her shear size and shiny silver accents scream “look at me!” As well as the infamous super loud Hasselblad “PLOP PLOP!” shutter sound. I love it. Medium format is a lot of fun, I’ve used other MF systems like the Rolleiflex 2.8C as well as a Mamiya 7II both of which are quite enjoyable but my favorite would definitely have to be the Hasselblad. Somewhere down the line, I’d like to get myself a Pentax 67II for portrait photography as well.

Processed with VSCO with acg presetLeica M6 Classic

Ah, and lastly my most prized possession. I honestly never thought I’d own one of these because of how expensive they are but I happen to get into shooting film enough to justify spending $1100 on the body only. Before this, I exclusively shot on SLR cameras, so buying this was a bit of a leap of faith, what if I found that I didn’t like using the rangefinder platform? Well fortunately, I immediately fell in love with the smooth action and operating process which I even consider it’s own form of art. It’s an absolute pleasure to shoot with and the lenses offered with it are truly remarkable. I do in fact, plan to have this passed down my future generations if I ever have kids… It’s that serious. But who knows, maybe I’ll be too selfish and have it buried with me when I die…

6 thoughts on “What I primarily shoot with. The Three Kings.

Leave a Reply

