Kids in the Store: 1st Posting

“Kids in the Store” is a photo series I’ve been continuously working on since the summer of 2014. Throughout the (5) years working at my parent’s dollar store, I’ve seen these children grow up drastically. From innocent, mindless children, to teenagers/young adults that have a developed personality. It’s truly amazing to see these kids grow to what they’ve become which is the idea behind this series; to capture this moment in time before they move on and grow up.

It first started when I was just making my rounds around the store, seeing if any items had been misplaced by customers. I also happened to be on the Snapchat app just checking out my friends stories when suddenly I turn into aisle 6 and this kid is just lying there. Not hurt or anything, just lying there… being a kid I guess (I asked if he was alright and he said he was bored). And being the photographer I am, I saw an interesting photograph that could come out of this situation. So I opened the camera in the Snapchat app and just took a photograph of the kid (I used the black and white filter just because and it kinda just stuck) . It was comical image really, this random kid lying down in the aisle while his parents shopped around without a care… I never saved this image which I regret but it did broadcast on my story for 24 hours.

And since that day, I’ve just been using the snapchat app+black and white filter to take pictures of these kids just being kids in the store.

And so the series began!

That’s all for this week folks!

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next post!

2 thoughts on “Kids in the Store: 1st Posting

  1. I really dig your latest post, the checker tile floor looks really awesome in black and white and pulls all the photos you’ve taken together seamlessly. The little girl sleeping under the pizza is hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

